A Troubled Marriage

The first two scenes of a screenplay

Martha Lueck
6 min readJun 6, 2022
Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Characters:

Dr. Jacobson: A 53-year-old therapist specializing in individual and couples’ therapy

Adam: A 42-year-old accountant with depression and a traumatic upbringing

Sarah: A 40-year-old teacher with undiagnosed depression and a traumatic upbringing

Scene 1: The middle of a therapy session in Dr. Jacobson’s office

Dr. Jacobson: Did you do your assignment from last week?

Adam: I’m sorry. What was the assignment?

Dr. Jacobson: You were going to tell Sarah that you are grateful for her. You were going to thank her when she did something kind.

Adam: *Buries his head in his hands and weeps* Oh, that’s right. I tried to do that after our session last week. Sarah made dinner for me. Before I could thank her, she said something that…just…set me off.

Dr. Jacobson: What did she say?

Adam: She said, “Maybe if someone else could cook dinner for once, I wouldn’t have to.” She said it like I wasn’t even there.

Dr. Jacobson: *Hands Adam a box of Kleenex* That must have hurt, Adam. I can see why it would have been difficult for you to thank her.

--

--

Martha Lueck

Published author | Freelance blogger for HealthyPlace.com | Passionate about mental health and Jesus | https://tinyurl.com/5fbu7pj7