Embarrassing Laughter

Martha Lueck
2 min readJan 13, 2023
Photo by Jamie Brown on Unsplash

Usually, I enjoy working out to hard rock at the gym. It increases my energy and makes time fly by quickly. But sometimes, I like to listen to comedy. Yesterday, I found something new to feel insecure about while working out: my obnoxious laughter at the gym!

My laugh sounds like a combination of a drunk Santa, a monkey, a dying chicken, and Janice from Friends. “HUH ha HEE HEE HEE ha ha ha ha ha E E E HA HO!” And every time I start laughing, I can’t stop!

I always try to use the elliptical far away from other people to avoid distracting them…just in case I accidentally start singing. The same is true for laughter now.

Actually, no. You know what? Now that I think about it, I once wrote about the reasons we shouldn’t fear judgment at the gym. I’m going to implement the “who cares?” attitude for my laughter. I can laugh at the gym if I want to, dammit!

Do you have any insecurities you feel comfortable sharing? How do you deal with them?

Thank you for reading this short story. If you enjoyed it, check out more gym and comedy-related content below.

--

--

Martha Lueck

Published author | Freelance blogger for HealthyPlace.com | Passionate about mental health and Jesus | https://tinyurl.com/5fbu7pj7