God Helped Me Get Through a Scary Time

Martha Lueck
2 min readJan 12, 2023
Photo by James Coleman on Unsplash

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. (Isaiah 41:10, NLT)

When I was in my mid-teens, I had my first Grand Mal seizure. I thought it was a one-time thing caused by dehydration. So I started drinking a lot of water and reducing my time in the summer heat. But a month later, I had another seizure and was diagnosed with Epilepsy.

That was a really scary time in my life. Thankfully, it has been more than a decade since my last seizure. In that time, I have learned to praise God for doctors, medication, and education.

God prevented my condition from getting worse. So when I get scared, I remember how He protected me in the past. He will continue to do so during scary times.

How has God protected you during times of fear and uncertainty? What did you learn?

Thank you for reading this devotional. If you would like to read more of my content, check out the links below.

--

--

Martha Lueck

Published author | Freelance blogger for HealthyPlace.com | Passionate about mental health and Jesus | https://tinyurl.com/5fbu7pj7