My Epilepsy Journey

My personal story to raise Epilepsy awareness

Martha Lueck
8 min readJul 20, 2022
Image by geralt from Pixabay

When people hear the word “seizure,” they usually imagine someone shaking on the ground with their eyes rolling into the back of their head. Medical professionals refer to that as a Tonic-Clonic (or Grand Mal) seizure. There are many different types, but that is the one I have experienced.

According to The Epilepsy Foundation, Epilepsy is “the fourth most common neurological disorder in the world.” (“What Is Epilepsy?” Epilepsy Foundation). Despite its prevalence, it does not receive as much attention as other conditions. With this in mind, it is important to raise awareness and break the stigma about seizures. Here is my personal story about Epilepsy.

My first seizure happened in the summer of 2006.

Voices crackled like static. Faces looked like blurry silhouettes in the blinding sunlight. My forehead burned; rocks dug into my back. I lay paralyzed from fear and pain. Where was I?

“Martha, do you know where you are?” a feminine voice asked.

“Uh…I don’t…know,” I moaned.

All I wanted to do was go back to sleep. At least I understood the woman’s voice as she knelt beside me. All around me, the silhouettes towered over me.

--

--

Martha Lueck

Published author | Freelance blogger for HealthyPlace.com | Passionate about mental health and Jesus | https://tinyurl.com/5fbu7pj7