A Sober Purpose

A Drabble about the Word “Purpose”

Martha Lueck
1 min readMay 18, 2024

A drabble is a fictional story with exactly 100 words. This story was inspired by Nancy Oglesby’s random word: Purpose.

For this story to count as a read, please stay on the page for at least 30 seconds.

Trigger warning: This content discusses substance abuse and death.

“Happy birthday, Maddie!!!”

The entire bar raised a glass. My three best friends and I downed tequila shots.

“DIRTY THIRTY!” I yelled.

That was all I remembered when I woke up this morning. As I got dressed, the beer cans and wine stains on the floor reminded me of my mother. One year prior, she died of alcohol poisoning on her birthday.

That could have been me, I thought.

In my 20's, I didn’t know my purpose or what I wanted. But today, I realized that I want to get sober. One day, I’ll help other people do the same.

Thank you for reading my drabble. If you enjoyed it, check out more of my content below.

--

--

Martha Lueck

Published author | Freelance blogger for HealthyPlace.com | Passionate about mental health and Jesus | https://tinyurl.com/5fbu7pj7